Do You Know How Other Critters Hear?

  • Cicadas have their hearing organs in their stomachs.
  • Crickets have their hearing organs in their knees.
  • Male mosquitoes hear with thousands of tiny hairs growing on their antennae.
  • Fish do not have ears but they can hear. They hear pressure changes through ridges on their bodies.
  • Snakes do not have ears, but their tongues are sensitive to sound vibrations.
  • In World War One (WWI) parrots were kept on the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France because of their remarkable sense of hearing. When the Parrots heard the enemy aircraft coming they would warn everyone of the approaching danger long before any human ear would hear it.

From the Better Hearing Institute

www.lowedown.net

 

11 thoughts on “Do You Know How Other Critters Hear?

  1. Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice methods and we are looking to swap methods with other folks, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  2. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such magnificent info being shared freely out there.

  3. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He used to be totally
    right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t
    imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

Leave a comment