How Do I Know If I Have a Hearing Problem? Symptoms of Hearing Loss

Hearing loss usually develops very slowly, and it often worsens with age.  Hearing loss due to aging is usually permanent.  Most individuals with hearing loss can be helped significantly with properly fit hearing aids.

“Bill, why don’t you get your hearing checked?”

It is not unusual for people with a mild to moderate hearing loss to be unaware of their problem.  However, their family and friends may be quite aware of the problem.   Hearing loss is invisible and usually painless.  The reason it “sneaks” up on a person is because the change is very gradual.  Most hearing losses develop over a period of 25 to 30 years. By age 50 or 60, there can be enough deterioration to interfere with conversation.It is important to first determine if you have a hearing loss.  If you answer yes to three or more of the following statements, you should consider scheduling an appointment with an audiologist.

I need the radio or TV louder than other family members would like.

I use “huh” or “what” more than before.

I ask people to repeat themselves.

I avoid participating in groups because I don’t hear well.

I avoid speaking to strangers because I don’t hear well.

I watch TV less often because I can’t hear well.

I have difficulty understanding people on the phone.

I try to avoid small talk at family gatherings.

I notice that background noise seems to drown out voices.

I find it necessary to watch people with whom I am speaking.

I am bothered by loud sounds.

I tend to withdraw.

I have arguments with family members because of my hearing.

I guess about what people say, and often I am wrong.

I have trouble with unexpected speech or rapid speech.

I complain that people do not talk clearly anymore.

I miss the punch line of jokes.

I cannot easily locate the direction that sound is coming from.

I have ringing or other sounds (tinnitus) in my ear(s).

“It’s time to do something.”

Sometimes a “significant other” needs to have a private chat with the hearing impaired individual and let them know that their inability to hear is causing problems not only in their relationship but also with other friends and family members.

ear logohttp://hearingcareinfortwayne.com

http://www.facebook.com/fortwaynehearing

https://plus.google.com/106518186084557438177

6 thoughts on “How Do I Know If I Have a Hearing Problem? Symptoms of Hearing Loss

  1. F*ckin’ awesome issues here. I’m very satisfied to peer your article. Thanks a lot and i am taking a look forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  2. Fantastic blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any tips? Bless you!

Leave a Reply

