Recruitment – A Painful Listening Experience

Jerry: “Frank, why are you covering your ears?”

Frank: “I can’t stand the sound of those screaming children in the gym!  Their screams are causing great pain in my ears!  I have to leave!”

Jerry: “Well, they are loud, but I don’t have any pain in my ears.  What is wrong with you?

Recruitment is a term used to describe an abnormal growth of loudness.  Recruitment may be present in people who have a sensorineural hearing loss but not all people with a sensorineural hearing loss suffer from recruitment.  Recruitment can be mild or severe.  People with normal hearing do not have recruitment.

How does this happen?  Here is one explanation the some researchers believe to be the case.  The hair cells in the inner ear (cochlea) are grouped together in critical bands.  When any hair cell in a given critical band is stimulated, that entire critical band sends a signal to our brains which we “hear” as one unit of sound at the frequency that critical band is sensitive to. This is the situation when a person has normal hearing.

With a sensorineural hearing loss, some of the hair cells in the inner ear (cochlea) die or cease to function. When this happens, each “critical band” no longer has a full complement of hair cells.  Our brains don’t like this condition.  They require each critical band to have a full complement of hair cells.  However, since all the hair cells are already in service in a particular band, there are no spares to recruit.  Therefore, our brains recruit some hair cells from adjacent critical bands.  These hair cells now have to do double duty or worse. They are still members of their original critical band and now are also members of one or more additional critical bands making the sound abnormally loud.

Appropriate hearing aids can help an individual hear well and at the same time protect them from sounds that can cause them extreme discomfort.  I can remember a patient who loved to attend the Fort Wayne Komets hockey games. This patient had a severe hearing loss in one ear.  When the loud horn went off during the hockey games, he could not stand the sound of the horn in the ear with the hearing loss.  It caused significant pain in the ear with the severe hearing loss.

I recommended that he be fit with a behind-the-ear hearing aid with a fully occluding earmold.  The goal was to force all sound entering the impaired ear to first pass through the hearing aid circuitry which would compress the sound of the horn and keep it comfortable.  This arrangement worked very well.  At the follow-up appointment in my office, the patient indicated that he could hear people in the aided ear and the sound of the horn and other loud sounds no longer bothered him.

With the new technology available in digital hearing aids, most patients can be protected from sounds that have caused pain.  If you are suffering from recruitment, ask your physician to refer you to an audiologist.

www.lowedown.net

70 thoughts on “Recruitment – A Painful Listening Experience

  1. Thank you for some other fantastic report. The place else could anyone get that type of information in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the glance for such info.

  2. Howdy. Very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find numerous useful info here in the article. Thank you for sharing..

  3. Hey. Very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to locate numerous helpful information here within the post. Thank you for sharing…

  4. Good day. Very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find numerous useful information right here in the article. Thanks for sharing..

  5. Good day. Very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I’m satisfied to locate so much helpful information right here within the article. Thanks for sharing..

  6. From my investigation, shopping for consumer electronics online may be easily expensive, but there are some tips that you can use to help you get the best offers. There are constantly ways to find discount promotions that could make one to possess the best technology products at the lowest prices. Interesting blog post.

  7. Ok, I’m ready to acquire the plunge and start this challenge in order to re-energize myself as well as the teachers with whom I teach! After a rough start into the new year I think this is something we all can use and utilize not only to ignite our spark but also the sparks of our students!

  8. Good day. Very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I am happy to locate a lot of helpful information right here within the article. Thank you for sharing..

  9. Howdy. Very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to find a lot of useful info right here within the article. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  11. Can I just now say what relief to uncover somebody that in fact knows what theyre discussing on the internet. You certainly learn how to bring an issue to light and produce it important. Workout . must check out this and appreciate this side with the story. I cant believe youre no more well-known simply because you undoubtedly hold the gift.

  12. Howdy. Very cool website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I am happy to locate a lot of helpful information right here in the article. Thank you for sharing.

  13. Whats up. Very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find a lot of useful information right here in the post. Thanks for sharing…

  14. Howdy. Very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I am glad to find numerous useful info right here within the post. Thank you for sharing.

  15. Whats up. Very nice website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to locate so much useful information right here within the article. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Hey there this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  17. Amazing blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Cheers!

  18. Along with everything which appears to be developing throughout this subject matter, a significant percentage of opinions are very stimulating. On the other hand, I beg your pardon, because I can not subscribe to your entire idea, all be it stimulating none the less. It would seem to us that your commentary are generally not totally rationalized and in actuality you are your self not fully certain of the argument. In any event I did enjoy looking at it.

  19. Thanx for a very informative web site. Where else could I get that type of info written in such an ideal manner? I’ve a undertaking that I’m simply now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  20. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog visitors have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

  21. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?

  22. Hello! I’ve been reading your web site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

  23. Hello. Very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m glad to locate so much helpful information right here in the article. Thanks for sharing…

  24. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  25. Most of what you state happens to be supprisingly precise and it makes me ponder why I hadn’t looked at this in this light before. This article really did switch the light on for me as far as this topic goes. Nevertheless there is actually one factor I am not necessarily too comfy with and while I make an effort to reconcile that with the main idea of your point, allow me see exactly what the rest of your subscribers have to say.Well done.

  26. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my users would truly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!

  27. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  28. Whats up. Very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I am satisfied to locate a lot of helpful information here in the post. Thanks for sharing…

  29. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thank you!

  30. Hello there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Many thanks!

  31. The amperage will adjust automatically with the clean weld of hard wire, although this is twice as expensive to do! Step 3 – Lay the stand for the weld, and may fail, damaging the parts or causing significant loss or injuries. Mechanized and automated welding equipment system when the operator is required to spend a disproportionate amount of financial ability. {||||

  32. In accordance with my observation, after a in foreclosure home is sold at a sale, it is common for any borrower to be able to still have some sort ofthat remaining balance on the mortgage. There are many loan merchants who seek to have all costs and liens paid off by the following buyer. Nonetheless, depending on specified programs, polices, and state guidelines there may be several loans that aren’t easily sorted out through the exchange of personal loans. Therefore, the obligation still lies on the client that has obtained his or her property in foreclosure. Many thanks for sharing your notions on this blog site.

  33. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is an extremely neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

