Recruitment – A Painful Listening Experience

Jerry: “Frank, why are you covering your ears?”

Frank: “I can’t stand the sound of those screaming children in the gym!  Their screams are causing great pain in my ears!  I have to leave!”

Jerry: “Well, they are loud, but I don’t have any pain in my ears.  What is wrong with you?”

Recruitment is a term used to describe an abnormal growth of loudness.  Recruitment may be present in people who have a sensorineural hearing loss but not all people with a sensorineural hearing loss suffer from recruitment.  Recruitment can be mild or severe.  People with normal hearing do not have recruitment.

How does this happen?  Here is one explanation the some researchers believe to be the case.  The hair cells in the inner ear (cochlea) are grouped together in critical bands.  When any hair cell in a given critical band is stimulated, that entire critical band sends a signal to our brains which we “hear” as one unit of sound at the frequency that critical band is sensitive to. This is the situation when a person has normal hearing.

With a sensorineural hearing loss, some of the hair cells in the inner ear (cochlea) die or cease to function. When this happens, each “critical band” no longer has a full complement of hair cells.  Our brains don’t like this condition.  They require each critical band to have a full complement of hair cells.  However, since all the hair cells are already in service in a particular band, there are no spares to recruit.  Therefore, our brains recruit some hair cells from adjacent critical bands.  These hair cells now have to do double duty or worse. They are still members of their original critical band and now are also members of one or more additional critical bands making the sound abnormally loud.

Appropriate hearing aids can help an individual hear well and at the same time protect them from sounds that can cause them extreme discomfort.  I can remember a patient who loved to attend the Fort Wayne Komets hockey games. This patient had a severe hearing loss in one ear.  When the loud horn went off during the hockey games, he could not stand the sound of the horn in the ear with the hearing loss.  It caused significant pain in the ear with the severe hearing loss.

I recommended that he be fit with a behind-the-ear hearing aid with a fully occluding earmold.  The goal was to force all sound entering the impaired ear to first pass through the hearing aid circuitry which would compress the sound of the horn and keep it comfortable.  This arrangement worked very well.  At the follow-up appointment in my office, the patient indicated that he could hear people in the aided ear and the sound of the horn and other loud sounds no longer bothered him.

With the new technology available in digital hearing aids, most patients can be protected from sounds that have caused pain.  If you are suffering from recruitment, ask your physician to refer you to an audiologist.

www.lowedown.net

 

68 thoughts on “Recruitment – A Painful Listening Experience

  1. What i do not realize is in fact how you’re now not actually much more neatly-appreciated than you may be now. You are so intelligent. You know therefore considerably with regards to this subject, produced me for my part believe it from numerous various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be fascinated until it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. All the time take care of it up!

  2. Dear Anthony,
    My husband and i have met you several times on Fridays in Old Town Oakland. I recently study “Two Months in Italy and Istria,” and enjoyed it thoroughly. The aspect that resonates in particular is the July 17 entry: “It just so happens that this excursion to Rome has inspired a meditation regarding the difference among faith and truth.” Around some time that I examine that line, I was contemplating the relationship between faith and trust. Your comment made me think of 1 of my favorite sections of “Passing Strange,” written by Stew, which is about a musician who can be a seeker. A friend of Stew’s informed him, “Your musician is looking for something in life that can only be observed in art.”

  3. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

  4. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

  5. F*ckin’ awesome issues here. I’m very satisfied to peer your article. Thanks a lot and i am taking a look forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  6. Hi there. Very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am satisfied to locate so much helpful information here within the article. Thank you for sharing..

  7. Good day. Very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I am happy to locate a lot of useful information here within the post. Thank you for sharing…

  8. Hello. Very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I’m glad to locate so much useful info right here within the post. Thanks for sharing..

  9. Congrats!! I’ve been reading all of one’s posts over the previous few weeks in preparation for diving into lens constructing and this is by far quite possibly the most inspiring for me. I’m curious about how many hours per day over the final 11 months you have got put into your “steady” lens building?

  10. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

  11. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  12. Hello. Very cool website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to locate so much helpful information here within the article. Thank you for sharing..

  13. Good day. Very nice web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I’m satisfied to find a lot of helpful information here in the article. Thank you for sharing..

  14. Howdy. Very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I’m glad to locate numerous useful info here in the article. Thank you for sharing..

  15. Hi there. Very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I’m glad to locate numerous helpful information here within the article. Thank you for sharing.

  16. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  17. Along with everything that appears to be building throughout this particular area, many of your viewpoints tend to be fairly radical. Even so, I am sorry, because I do not subscribe to your whole strategy, all be it refreshing none the less. It would seem to everyone that your commentary are actually not entirely rationalized and in actuality you are generally yourself not really totally certain of your assertion. In any event I did enjoy reading through it.

  18. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

  19. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a fair price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  20. These reserve accounts are set aside for the payments, because you will submit a business may not be as intensive as other creditors may run. If you are working with a representative who might not seem willing to assist you. Non homeowner guarantor loanss are one of your expenses. This requires you to submit a business from one or numerous accounts.

  21. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  22. Good day. Very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I am satisfied to locate a lot of useful information right here within the article. Thank you for sharing..

  23. We all know how to keep those wild animals such as whether you live applies such as whether you live applies such as the wasps will kill the cockroach quickly. Peachtree Pest Control, servicing Atlanta and the insects they ward off. When the eggs hatch the wasps will kill the tomato horn worm. Marigolds, cilantro, dill, chives and dahlia are included in this diverse group and often are not visible.

  24. Hello. Very cool web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am satisfied to find a lot of useful info here within the post. Thanks for sharing.

  25. Along with every little thing which appears to be developing throughout this area, all your points of view happen to be somewhat exciting. However, I appologize, but I do not subscribe to your whole strategy, all be it stimulating none the less. It appears to everyone that your commentary are not completely justified and in reality you are yourself not even totally confident of the point. In any case I did take pleasure in examining it.

  26. I am really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues? A small number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  27. Terrific post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

  28. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  29. Hey. Very nice website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find so much useful info right here in the article. Thank you for sharing…

  30. Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

  31. No matter the iPhone 5 winds up currently being is a thing we will not come across out right up until it truly is unveiled, when which could truly be, but what we do recognize is usually that we will not be alone in finding out.

  32. Hi there. Very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to locate a lot of helpful information here within the article. Thanks for sharing…

  33. My partner and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

  34. This is a appropriate weblog for everyone who is would like to find out about this topic. You already know much its virtually hard to argue to you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You actually put a whole new spin with a topic thats been revealed for decades. Great stuff, just excellent!

  35. Here is a huge saving cost compared to gasoline consumption. The motor can only help the pedals performance itself, which in turn would make the bike anytime you like and switch back to electric motor to enjoy the pleasure ride.

  36. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log!

  37. Hiya. Very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I’m happy to locate numerous helpful information here within the post. Thank you for sharing…

  38. Hiya. Very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I’m glad to find a lot of helpful information here within the article. Thank you for sharing..

Leave a Reply

